How to Eat Healthy – Quick, Easy and Cheap Food Recipes

I love food. There you go. It’s just as simple as that. I love all kinds of food – raw, veggies and fruits, cooked meals, a good juicy steak,  oriental dishes, even sweets and junk food. I always like tasting something new and different; and I’m constantly on the lookout for new recipes. Vegetarian, high-protein; Atkins/Ducan, Paleo, Blood type diets, Mono, LCHF, Chrono eating… You name it, I’ve tried it! But in the end, I kinda just made my own system.

I wanted to eat healthy. That was my ultimate goal. But what does that even mean? Paleo diet tells me to go off of dairy products, yet Chrono fans eat cheese every day for breakfast and they’re lovin’ it. According to my blood type, I shoul be eating a whole lotta meat. Atkins says – go with high-fat meat, but Ducan says – No, no; only lean meat! What’s wrong with eggs?!  And we all know the self-righteous vegan principles… So what to do? How to make the best choice?  We all want to stay healthy, energetic and look good. Proper diet can definitely help us with that.

ron

But, first of all, let’s stop the witch hunt. People these days are so afraid of gluten that you could rob a bank, just by holding a loaf of white bread! My grandma used to say: ”That’s crazy! You should eat whatever you want!” She would often tell me stories about her childhood, growing up in a small village, eating corn bread and beans every day, drinking fresh milk… and guess what?! Everybody was healthy, working that field all day long. Still, today’s food industry has certainly gone a long way from natural farming principles. We mostly consume refined foods, all sorts of additives and preservatives on a daily basis. Sure, the shelf life is longer, but we are not really benefiting from that. There are more and more children with food allergies and intolerance. Coincidence? I think – not!

randy

So what should we do about it? First of all, stop dividing your foods into two main categories – the good and the bad. Instead, listen to your body. Try out new things. See how it works out for you. Then set some basic principles. I try mostly to eat unprocessed foods, organic, without many additives. Fruits, Veggies (raw and cooked), Grains (oat, barley, rice, corn, potatoes and yes, even wheat), seeds and nuts, eggs, meat (chicken, steak, tenderloin), fish (tuna, cod, squid), mushrooms, dairy (cheese, yoghurt, occasionally milk)… I also have a hamburger now and then. When I feel like eating some chocolate, I do! And nothing bad happens, trust me. Every once in a while you should indulge in some forbidden junkies. Even scientists say it’s good for your hormones. Hedonism can cure your soul 😉 !

I eat fruits and grains for breakfast, Meat and cooked veggies with zingy sauces for lunch, I keep it creative for my snacks, and dinner often comprises of eggs, veggie salads, sometimes sandwiches. I also have a bit of a sweet tooth, but that’s why I constantly search for many interesting recipes and healthy alternatives. I like to keep it simple, quick and tasty, since I don’t have much time for cooking. I’m also not a big fan of home ec activities… Don’t judge me cause I’m edgy! 🙂 So, every week I’m going to post some of my interesting recipes here on the blog. I hope you’ll like them, try them out and make your own suggestions. Bon appetite!

1. Fruit salad with nuts, seeds and dried figs

fr

I love fruit salads in the morning. The beauty with this kind of recipe is that you can mix it up and add what you like. It literally takes you no time to make it. You can store it in the fridge for later, have it on the go. Put it in a container, take to school or work. You have healthy carbs in fruits to keep you energetic and protein in nuts to fill you up. So this is one version of it.

Ingredients: banana, pineapple,blueberries; dried figs; pumpkin/flax seeds; walnuts

…slice the fruits into smaller pieces and add the seeds and nuts

Optional: drizzle the salad with lemon juice, add honey, raw cocoa

2. Chicken tenderloin with broccoli

This is a quick, no effort, tasty lunch idea. Just some healthy grains and protein with garlic, olive oil, lemon and parsley. Those are some good detox agents and omega fatty acids.

Ingredients: Chicken tenderloins, broccoli, garlic, lemon, parsley, salt, pepper

…fry the chicken on olive oil, cook the broccoli, season it with a mixture of garlic, lemon, parsley, salt and pepper

3.Afternoon sweet snack with nuts and raisins

This one goes for your late sweet cravings.

Ingredients: Walnuts, raisins, dark chocolate chips – mix them up

Optional: drizzle with honey

4. A protein pancake

pp

This is by far one of my favorite things to eat! Much like the fruit salad recipes, you can tailor it to your own needs and cravings. The basics are – 2 eggs and a banana.

Ingredients: 2 eggs, 1 banana

Optional: oat flakes, raw cocoa

…blend scrambled eggs with a crushed banana until you get a smooth like texture, add some oat flakes and raw cocoa, maybe even some raisins if you like them; cook on a teflon frying pan with some olive oil for few minutes; flip when the edges start browning; decorate with fruit, honey or coffee cream (butter, coffee, honey, nuts)

I will be adding new recipes every week. Please like, comment, follow. Stay happy, healthy and fear no gluten! See you next time!

3 thoughts on “How to Eat Healthy – Quick, Easy and Cheap Food Recipes

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

